THREE East Renfrewshire teenagers are celebrating today after beating out hundreds of candidates for a place in the Scottish Youth Parliament (SYP).

Fifth year pupils Amy Perry, from Williamwood High, and Euan Waddell, from Woodfarm High School, have been elected for the Eastwood district, while St Luke's Matthew McVeigh, S4, was elected for the Renfrewshire South district.

After a hard fought campaign, the candidates were told their fates at Eastwood House on Friday.

More than 350 candidates, aged between 14 and 25, applied to take part in the election by uploading their manifestos to the SYP website and campaigning to local residents.

The trio, who received support from East Renfrewshire's Young Person's Services during their campaign, was selected from 11 candidates.

Councillor Mary Montague, convener for community services and community safety, said: "It is terrific to see so many of our young people becoming involved in politics and having their voices heard.

"I would like to congratulate all the youngsters for taking part and wish our three Scottish Youth Parliament MPs the best of luck in their two-year term."