The leader of Glasgow City Council has picked up a top award for local politicians at a national ceremony.

First Minister Nicola Sturgeon paid tribute to the tireless efforts of councillor Susan Aitken in working to resolve the local authority's equal pay scandal.

READ MORE: Susan Aitken speaks out on Glasgow equal pay settlement

Cllr Aitken collected the award for Local Politician of the Year at the ceremony, held at the Prestonfield House Hotel in Edinburgh.

Judges cited Cllr Aitken's battle to ensure female council workers who were paid up to £3 less per hour than their male counterparts for doing the same work recived an equal wage as the reason for her win.

The First Minister also paid trbute to the council leader, singling out her efforts as particularly outstanding.

Ms Sturgeon picked up the overall award for Scottish Politician of the Year.

Accpeting the award, she said: "There’s lots that divides us. We’re all in politics for different reasons."

READ MORE: No end to Glasgow's equal pay fight until women feel justice is done

"But regardless of that, all of us come into politics to do the best for our constituents and do the very best we can for those we serve, and in my case, in the case of my party, to stand up for Scotland and our right to choose our own future."

She added: "That’s the reason we’re all in politics. Thank you very much for the award.”

Full list of winners: 

Best Scot at Westminster – Supported by Virgin Trains

Joanna Cherry QC

Donald Dewar Debater of the Year – Supported by NVT Group

Jackson Carlaw MSP

One to Watch – Supported by ScottishPower

Ross Greer MSP

Committee MSP of the Year

Edward Mountain MSP

Community MSP of the Year – Supported by Scottish Grocers’ Federation

Jackie Baillie MSP

Politics in Business Award – Supported by Royal Bank of Scotland

Derek Mackay MSP

E-politician of the Year

Murdo Fraser MSP

Public Campaign or Campaigner of the Year

British Heart Foundation Scotland – Nation of Lifesavers

Scottish Local Politician of the Year – Supported by Openreach

Councillor Susan Aitken, Leader, Glasgow City Council

Lifetime Achievement

Sir Paul Grice

Scottish Politician of the Year – Presented by The Herald

Nicola Sturgeon MSP