The Scottish Government has added an additional five countries where travellers will not need to quarantine for 14 days on arrival in Scotland.

From Tuesday, passengers from the following countries will be exempt:

  • Estonia
  • Latvia
  • Slovenia
  • Slovakia
  • St Vincent and The Grenadines

The decision follows a review of infection prevalence rates of coronavirus (COVID-19). Exemptions are kept under regular review and could be reinstated if the prevalence rates increase. 

Justice Secretary Humza Yousaf said: “Infection prevalence rates in countries across the world are being closely monitored. Where there is clear evidence that it is safe to do so, we will add further countries and we are now able to do that for Estonia, Latvia, Slovenia, Slovakia and St Vincent and The Grenadines.

“The virus remains infectious and deadly and, with quarantine restrictions being lifted, we must not become complacent.

“Anyone travelling should follow public health advice at all times including wearing face coverings, avoiding crowded places, washing hands and surfaces, staying two metres apart and, if they get symptoms,  self-isolating and immediately registering for a test.”

What countries are already exempt:

The current list of exempt countries and territories are:

  • Andorra
  • Antigua and Barbuda   
  • Aruba
  • Australia 
  • Austria 
  • The Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belgium 
  • Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba
  • Croatia
  • Curaçao 
  • Cyprus 
  • Czech Republic 
  • Denmark
  • Dominica
  • Faroe Islands
  • Fiji 
  • Finland
  • France 
  • French Polynesia 
  • Germany
  • Greece 
  • Greenland 
  • Grenada
  • Guadeloupe
  • Hong Kong 
  • Hungary 
  • Iceland  
  • Italy 
  • Jamaica
  • Japan
  • Liechtenstein 
  • Lithuania 
  • Luxembourg 
  • Macau 
  • Malta 
  • Mauritius 
  • Monaco 
  • The Netherlands 
  • New Caledonia
  • New Zealand
  • Norway 
  • Poland 
  • Réunion
  • San Marino 
  • Seychelles
  • Spain
  • St Barthélemy
  • St Kitts & Nevis
  • St Lucia
  • St Pierre and Miquelon
  • South Korea
  • Switzerland 
  • Taiwan 
  • Trinidad & Tobago
  • Turkey 
  • Vatican City State 
  • Vietnam

British overseas territories

The following 14 UK overseas territories will also be exempt: 

  • The Sovereign Base Areas of Akrotiri and Dhekelia in the Island of Cyprus
  • Anguilla
  • Bermuda        
  • British Antarctic Territory
  • British Indian Ocean Territory
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Cayman Islands
  • Falkland Islands
  • Gibraltar
  • Montserrat
  • Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands
  • Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha
  • South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands
  • Turks and Caicos Islands