Four countries have been removed from the Scottish Government's quarantine exemption list.

Travellers returning to Scotland from Denmark, Iceland, Slovakia and the Caribbean island of Curacao will now be required to self-isolate for 14 days.

The rules will come into force at 4am on Saturday following a "significant" increase in cases.

Justice Secretary Humza Yousaf said: “Putting in place quarantine requirements on those arriving in the UK from various parts of the world is a key line of defence in our efforts to supress the spread of the virus.

"Managing the risk of importing cases from communities with high risks of transmission is vital in our efforts to do this.

“The advice remains that people should think very hard before committing to non-essential travel abroad. We are in the midst of a global pandemic and the situation in many countries can change suddenly.”