UNDER new rules it will be illegal to travel in and out of Scotland from England, Wales, Northern Ireland and the Irish Republic, as well as move from level 4 and level 3 areas into other parts of the country on lower tiers of restrictions.

The move is designed to prevent the spread of the virus which has now taken more than 5000 lives in Scotland.

A full list of exemptions has been published by the Scottish Government which allows people to travel in and out of the country as well as in and out of level 3 and level 4 areas for certain specific reasons, which officials call a "reasonable excuse".

The "reasonable excuses" apply to both the cross border travel and to travel within Scotland.

They are to:

1. Obtain food and medical supplies 

2. Do paid or charity work if it is not possible to do these from home

3. Access or provide childcare, education or training, including a support service for parents or expectant parents,

4. Lead an act of worship

5. Provide care or assistance to a vulnerable person

6. Visit a person detained in a prison, young offenders institution, remand centre, secure accommodation or other place of detention,

7. Provide or receive emergency assistance

8. Provide or obtain medical assistance, including accessing any of the following—audiology services, chiropody services, chiropractic services, dental services, ophthalmic services, osteopathic services, services relating to mental health

9. Accompany a person obtaining medical assistance, or visit a person receiving treatment in a hospital or who is residing in a hospice or care home

10. Move house or undertake activities in connection with the maintenance, purchase, sale, letting, or rental of residential property that the person owns or is otherwise responsible for

11. Take part shared parenting arrangements

12. Participate in legal proceedings

13. Donate blood

14. Vote or register to vote in an election

15. Access public services, including any of the following—social, benefit and immigration services and victims of crime services

16. Access food bank services

17. Access waste and recycling services     

18. Obtain or deposit money in a bank or building society

19. Exercise outdoors so long as the area is within five miles of where you live and is not an organised activity

20. If the person travelling is a professional sportsperson, or the coach of a professional sportsperson, coach, to train or compete

21. Attend a wedding or a civil partnership

22. Attend a gathering which relates to a funeral, or to travel for compassionate reasons which relate to the end of a person’s life

23. Feed or care for an animal, including obtaining veterinary services

24. Where the person travelling is a member of an extended household, visiting a member of the household which forms the other part of the extended household 

The First Minister announced in Holyrood on Tuesday that 11 council areas across western and central Scotland, including Glasgow, would move onto level 4 restrictions at 6pm on Friday 20 November.

The level 4 restrictions will remain in place in the areas until 11 December.The council areas moving into level 4 are East Dunbartonshire, East Renfrewshire, Glasgow, Renfrewshire, West Dunbartonshire, North and South Lanarkshire, East and South Ayrshire, Stirling and West Lothian.

The move will see around 2.3 million people live under level 4 curbs. As well as the travel restrictions, it will also mean the closure of non-essential shops, pubs, restaurants and gyms. Schools will still be open.

The travel ban within Scotland also applies to people living in level 3 areas.

The First Minister announced that Edinburgh, Clackmannanshire, Falkirk, Inverclyde, North Ayrshire, Dundee, Fife, Perth & Kinross and Angus will currently remain at level 3.

However, from East Lothian and Midlothian will move from level 3 to level 2 from next Tuesday 24  November.