The SNP have held Glasgow Shettleston with John Mason retaining the seat.

Mason, who famously won the Glasgow East Westminster by election in 2008, has been MSP since 2011 when he took it from Labour’s Frank McAveety.

This time he defeated Pauline McNeill of Labour, with a majority of more than 8000.

Mason took 17,465 votes to McNeill’s 9440

READ MORE:First woman of colour elected to Holyrood as Kaukab Stewart holds Kelvin for SNP

The Conservatives were third with Glasgow councillor, Thomas Kerr, taking 4421 votes ahead of the LibDems in fourth with Matthew Clark winning 774 votes.

Glasgow Times: John Mason, Shettleston [Picture by Colin MearnsJohn Mason, Shettleston [Picture by Colin Mearns

Mason said after his win: “I’m not going to claim everyone who voted SNP voted because they support independence but because they support Nicola sturgeon leading through the pandemic.

“But I’m here to represent every person whether you voted for me or not.

“Shettleston has a number of challenges but the SNP has been delivering.  There has been investment in housing, the community hub has been build and a personal pleasure is the closure of the Bellgrove Hotel.

“But whie these issues are important, I joined the SNP for one main reason, so Scotland can be free again.

“That’s what I want, that’s what I’m here for.”