COP26 will be held in Glasgow this year after a year's postponement due to Covid-19. 

The climate conference has been dubbed one of the most important summits of the decade, with countries from around the world coming together to establish climate goals for the next ten years. 

As the name suggests, this is the 26th COP to take place, with the first meeting in 1995. 

Glasgow will play host to some of the world's most influential leaders next month, but where have the previous COP summits been held?

Here's everything you need to know...

Where have previous COP summits been held?

COP26 will be held in Glasgow between October 31 and November 12, marking the first time the UK has hosted the conference. 

Prior to COP26, there have been 25 other climate summits, including the influential COP21 where the Paris agreement was signed. 

Glasgow now joins some of the world's most famous cities by adding its name to the COP host line-up. 

Here's where all the other COPs have been held...

COP25 in 2019: Madrid, Spain

COP24 in 2018: Katowice, Poland

COP23 in 2017: Bonn, Germany

COP22 in 2016: Marrakech, Morocco

COP21 in 2015: Paris, France

COP20 in 2014: Lima, Peru

COP19 in 2013: Warsaw, Poland

COP18 in 2012: Doha, Quatar

COP17 in 2011: Durban, South Africa

COP16 in 2010: Cancún, Mexico

COP15 in 2009: Copenhagen, Denmark

COP14 in 2008: Poznań, Poland

COP13 in 2007: Bali, Indonesia

COP12 in 2006: Nairobi, Kenya

COP11 in 2005: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

COP10 in 2004: Buenos Aires, Argentina 

COP9 in 2003: Milan, Italy

COP8 in 2002: New Delhi, India 

COP7 in 2001: Marrakech, Morocco

COP6 in 2000: The Hague, Netherlands

COP5 in 1999: Bonn, Germany

COP4 in 1998: Buenos Aires, Argentina 

COP3 in 1997: Kyoto, Japan

COP2 in 1996: Geneva, Switzerland 

COP1 in 1995: Berlin, Germany