IT WAS widely regarded as the ‘Harrods of Glasgow’ in its day, and the opening of Fraser’s on Buchanan Street was a glittering affair.

The company had begun as a small draper’s in the city in 1849, but in April 1975, it moved from its previous home just across the street into sparkling new premises comprising the former McDonalds and Wylie and Lochhead department stores.

The company spent £2m over two years on the project. Fraser’s at the time employed 1123 staff and in the previous year, had welcome 2.5 million customers through the door.

The Evening Times reported: “For the occasion the store was decked out in hundreds of yards of Fraser tartan. Glasgow Police Pipe Band provided suitable music to welcome Lady Fraser, mother of Sir Hugh Fraser, the chairman of the group. Among the guests at the glittering opening was Lady Provost Mary Gray.

Glasgow Times: Wylie Hill's toy department, 1962. Pic: Newsquest

“To the delight of the specially invited audience, Lady Gray announced that that the pedestrianisation of Buchanan Street would be completed within a month.

“And she said that people from Iceland and Norway were now chartering flights to Glasgow to do their shopping.”

READ MORE: Midnight feasts and much larks - surprise lockdown telly hit Malory Towers is back

Our picture from the archive shows Italian sculptor Sandro working on a Capi de Monte figure as shoppers watch.

Glasgow Times: The new Malcolm Campbell's on St Vincent's Street, 1960. Pic: Newsquest

In other slices of the city’s retail history, we also discovered this fascinating picture of some bored-looking dads watching kids at play in the Wylie Hill’s toy department in 1962; and a less posh, but equally important, Malcolm Campbell’s on St Vincent’s Street in 1960.

Do these pictures spark memories for you? Get in touch.