The Summer holidays are marching on as Glasgow parents begin the inevitable dance of getting the kids ready to go back to school. 

Whether you've got the rucksacks packed or the pencil cases are far from stocked, the new term is closer than you think. 

To help you make the most of your final weeks of summer fun with the little ones or help you map out any back-to-school shopping you need to do, here are all those all-important dates you need to be aware of. 

These are the school term dates for the upcoming term for schools within the Glasgow City Council area including when they go back after the summer holidays.

Glasgow Times: Children raising hands in a classroom. Credit: PAChildren raising hands in a classroom. Credit: PA

Glasgow City Council school term dates 2022-2023

August 2022

  • Teachers return and in-service day: Monday, August 15 2022
  • In-service day: Tuesday, August 16 2022
  • Pupils return: Wednesday, August 17 2022

September 2022

  • September weekend holiday: Friday, September 23 and Monday, September 26 2022

October 2022

  • In-Service Day: Friday, October 14 2022 
  • October Week: Monday, 17 to Friday, October 21 2022 

December 2022 and New Year 2023

  • Schools close: Thursday, December 22 2022
  • Christmas holidays: Friday, December 23 2022 - Tuesday January 3 2023

Glasgow Times: Two schoolgirls walking in uniform. Credit: PATwo schoolgirls walking in uniform. Credit: PA

January 2023

  • Schools return: Wednesday, January 4 2023

February 2023

  • Mid-term break: Monday, February 13 2023 and Tuesday, February 14 2023
  • In-service day: Wednesday, 15 February 2023

April 2023

  • Easter/ Spring Holiday Schools close: Friday, March 31 2023
  • Spring Break: Monday, April 3 - Friday, April 14 2023
  • Schools return: Monday, April 17 2023

May 2023

  • May Holiday: Monday, May 1 2023
  • In-service day: Thursday, May 25 2023
  • May Weekend: Friday, May 26 2023 and Monday, May 29 2023 

June 2023

  • Schools Close: Friday June 23 2023

See the full term dates for 2022/2023 via the Glasgow City Council website.