Strictly Come Dancing’s Joanne Clifton will be among the stars to feature in the hit musical Hairspray which is set to play at Glasgow's King’s Theatre next year.

She will be playing Velma Von Tussle, and will be joined by Neil Hurst, Michelle Ndegwa, Soloman Davy, Declan Egan, Alexandra Emmerson-Kirby, Katlo, Reece Richards, and Allana Taylor, among others.

Ms Ndegwa, known for her vocalist role with the Gorillaz and recorded with the likes of Billy Porter and Rita Ora, will be making her professional debut playing Motormouth Maybelle.

She was selected from more than 3,000 people who applied to the open auditions in November last year.

Glasgow Times: The cast for the hit musical, Hairspray, has been announced

Ms Emerson-Kirby will also be making her professional debut as Tracy Turnblad.

A graduate in Musical Theatre & Dance, her passion for the genre started at her YMCA Theatre in Scarborough after which she went trained professionally at Italia Conti.

Brenda Edwards, famed for her performances in Loose Women and We Will Rock You, will co-direct the production with Paul Kerryson who had previously directed Ms Edwards in three renditions of Hairspray.

The production will be choreographed by Olivier Award winner Drew McOnie.

The creative team will also be composed of Richard Atkinson, Grindrod Burton, Ben Atkinson, Takis, George Reeves, and Juliet Gough, among others.

The timeless tale which has played in the West End, on Broadway and on the big screen since 1988, centres around Tracy Turnblad, who has big hair, a big heart, and big dreams to dance her way onto national TV, and into the heart of teen idol Link Larkin.

When Tracy becomes a star, she uses her newfound fame to fight for liberation, tolerance, and interracial unity in Baltimore.

The iconic musical comedy features some hit songs including Welcome To The 60s, You Can’t Stop The Beat and Good Morning Baltimore by Academy Award, Tony and Emmy winning duo Marc Shaiman and Scott Wittman.

The musical will play at The King’s Theatre, Glasgow from January 27 until February 1, 2025.