The countdown is on for the UCI Cycling World Championships in Glasgow - quite literally given the clock bearing the image of former Vuelta a Espana winner and Olympic time trial gold medallist Primoz Roglic that has been installed in Central Station.

The city will be the first ever host of the event, which brings together road, mountain and track cycling into one event.

It will be held between August 3 and 13 2023, and organisers have now revealed the dates and locations of the various events.

Kelvingrove Park will host the BMX flatland and freestyle, with the racing at the Glasgow BMX centre.

Track events will naturally be held at the Chris Hoy velodrome, with indoor cycling in the same venue at the Emirates Arena.

Glasgow Times: Some of the cyclists who has been selected to represent Team Scotland at the Glasgow 2014 Commonwealth Games at The Sir Chris Hoy Velodrome, Glasgow.

The official route of the men's road race, which will bring some of the biggest stars from events like the Tour de France has yet to be confirmed, but it's expected to finish in George Square.

Kelvingrove Park will also host the trials world championship.

The events will extend outside of the city, with the road racing to pass through Stirling and "across Scotland", and the para-cycling road race to include Dumfries & Galloway.

Elsewhere the mountain biking events will take place at the Nevis range, Fort William and Glentress Forest.

See a full list of events and dates below.

UCI Cycling World Championships:

BMX freestyle flatland: Kelvingrove Park; August 8, 9, 10

BMX freestyle park: Kelvingprove Park; August 5, 6, 7

Gran Fondo: TBC

Indoor: Emirates Arena; August 11, 12, 13

MTB cross-country: Glentress forest; August 8, 9, 10, 11, 12

MTB downhill: Nevis range; August 3, 4, 5

MTB marathon: Glentress forest; August 6

Para-cycling road: Dumfries & Galloway, Glasgow; August 9, 10, 11, 12, 13

Para-cycling track: Sir Chris Hoy Velodrome; August 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9

Road: Glasgow, Stirling, across Scotland; August 5, 6, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13

Track: Sir Chris Hoy Velodrome; August 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9

Trials: Kelvingrove Park; August 9, 10, 11, 12