THE football season truly never really ends.

A whole three days after the Scottish Cup final - and ten before Scotland face Cyprus in a European Championship qualifier - the draw for the Betfred Cup took place.

The competition gets underway on the weekend of July 13/14, and 40 teams entered the draw with eight groups of five teams looking to reach the knockout stages.

The eight group winners and four best runners-up go through to the second round where they will be joined by holders Celtic, Rangers, Kilmarnock and Aberdeen.

Group A: Hearts, Dundee United, East Fife, Stenhousemuir, Cowdenbeath

Group B: St Johnstone, Ross County, Forfar, Brechin City, Montrose

Group C: Hibernian, Alloa, Arbroath, Stirling Albion, Elgin City

Group D: Dundee, Inverness Caley Thistle, Raith Rovers, Peterhead, Cove Rangers

Group E: Motherwell, Morton, Queen of the South, Dumbarton, Annan Athletic

Group F: Hamilton Accies, Partick Thistle, Airdrie, Queen's Park, Clyde

Group G: Livingston, Ayr United, Stranraer, Berwick Rangers, Falkirk

Group H: St Mirren, Dunfermline, Albion Rovers, Edinburgh City, East Kilbride