JOSH Doig of Hibernian, Lewis Ferguson of Aberdeen, Nathan Patterson of Rangers and David Turnbull of Celtic have all been shortlisted for the Scottish Football Writers’ Association (SFWA) Young Player of the Year award.

Doig, 18, made his first team debut for Hibs back in August and has been a regular starter for Jack Ross ahead of Easter Road legend Lewis Stevenson as the capital club have reached the Betfred Cup and Scottish Cup semi-finals and risen to third in the Premiership. 

Celtic and English Premier League outfit Leicester City have both been linked with moves for the Scotland Under-18 player in recent weeks.

Ferguson, who was named SFWA Young Player of the Year last season, has netted 10 goals for the Pittodrie club from midfield in the 2020/21 campaign. He is bidding to become only the third player after Steven Fletcher and Kieran Tierney to lift the award on more than one occasion.

Patterson, 19, has only played 14 matches for Steven Gerrard’s team this term. However, the right back has impressed hugely, including in Europe, since coming in for his injured skipper James Tavernier in February.

He scored a sensational solo effort seconds after coming on in a Europa League game against Royal Antwerp at Ibrox and Scotland manager Steve Clarke has been urged to name him in his Euro 2020 squad by many members of the Tartan Army.

Turnbull, who won the SFWA Young Player of the Year award at the end of the 2018/19 season when he was at Motherwell, clinched a £3.25m move to Celtic back in August.

The midfielder has scored eight goals for the Glasgow club and played as they beat Hearts on penalties in the rescheduled Scottish Cup final at Hampden back in December to complete the quadruple treble.