The SPFL have confirmed the new 2021/22 season will begin on July 31.

The fixture list will be revealed on Tuesday, June 15 with all 42 clubs within the structure discovering their opponents for the season on that date.

It will be the first season beginning in July since 2011.

League bosses have revealed that the full fixture list will be published at 9am on June 15.

Rangers will be looking to retain their Premiership title while Hearts have earned promotion this season and will be among the top-flight clubs once again.

It is not yet known which club from the Premiership will be competing in the Championship next term as play-offs are still ongoing to find this season's relegated outfit.