Five Scots have been named in Team GB’s Rugby 7s squads for this summer’s Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games.  

Hannah Smith has been selected in the women’s squad, while Max McFarland, Robbie Fergusson, Ross McCann and Alex Coombes are in the men’s squad. Lisa Thomson is also named as the women’s reserve, while former men’s team captain Scott Forrest is coach of the women’s squad. 

“Rugby sevens made its memorable debut at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games with both men’s and women’s teams inspiring fans across the globe with the fast pace and excitement that this sport has to offer,” said Team GB Chef de Mission for the Games, Mark England. “The men’s team coming home with a silver medal was a superb achievement. 

“There is a huge amount of experience across both of these squads, not only from Rio 2016 but from many years of competitive rugby sevens which will stand these athletes in great stead heading into Tokyo. We’d like to congratulate everyone on their selection and look forward to seeing sevens in action at the Tokyo Stadium this summer.” 

Forrest – who played five years on the World Rugby Sevens Series with Scotland and captained them at the 2010 Commonwealth Games in Delhi – added that whittling down the initial training squad to just 12 names had been tough, especially as it meant cutting four Scots in Megan Gaffney, Rhona Lloyd, Helen Nelson and Chloe Rollie from the final selection. 

“We’ve had 22 players involved in the programme since we started in March who have created a very competitive environment,” he said. “Every one of those players has been so important. I’ve seen massive improvements in the team and what we’ve managed to do since March. We’re now excited to see what we can do in 41 days’ time from now. 

Two Scottish men’s players in Jamie Farndale and Paddy Kelly missed the final cut. 

GB Sevens women’s squad: Holly Aitchison, Abbie Brown, Abi Burton, Deborah Fleming, Natasha Hunt, Megan Jones (all England), Jasmine Joyce (Wales), Alex Matthews, Celia Quansah, Helena Rowland (all England), Hannah Smith (Scotland), Emma Uren (England). Reserve: Lisa Thomson (Scotland_ 

GB Sevens men’s squad: Dan Bibby (England), Alec Coombes (Scotland), Alex Davis (England), Robbie Fergusson (Scotland), Harry Glover (England), Ben Harris, Ollie Lindsay-Hague (both England), Ross McCann, Max McFarland (both Scotland), Tom Mitchell, Dan Norton and Ethan Waddleton (all England). Reserve: Tom Bowen (England).