SCOTT BROWN's moment of solidarity with Rangers midfielder Glen Kamara has been nominated for the FIFA Fair Play Award 2021.

The Rangers midfielder suffered racial abuse in a Europa League match against Slavia Prague back in March, and as both sets of players warmed up before a derby clash the following week, Brown walked into the Rangers half, shook Glen Kamara’s hand and put his arm around his back.

The Finland internationalist reciprocated as the two players spoke for a few moments.

It was a gesture of solidarity from the then Celtic captain, on behalf of the club to Kamara, one that was appreciated at the time and one which has now been acknowledged by FIFA.

The other two nominations for the FIFA Fair Play Award 2021 are:

  • The Danish medical team and players who responded heroically after Christian Eriksen collapsed during their Euro 2020 match against Finland, giving Eriksen immediate and life-saving CPR, creating a circle with team-mates to shield the player from cameras and comforting Christian Eriksen's wife.
  • Claudio Ranieri, who, as a gesture of goodwill to the recently-crowned Serie A champions, Inter Milan, got his Sampdoria side to form a guard of honour for the Inter players ahead of the game, a tradition he brought from his time in English football and, specifically, when his Leicester City side won the Premier League in 2016.

Since 1987, FIFA has recognised exemplary fair play with the FIFA Fair Play Award. The honour is bestowed on a player, coach, team, match official, individual fan or fan group in recognition of exemplary fair play behaviour, either on or off the pitch, such as:

Playing by the rules and promoting the Laws of the Game; and/or

Respecting team-mates, opponents, match officials and/or fans; and/or

Acting against discrimination.

In 2003, the Celtic supporters were awarded both the FIFA Fair Play Award and the UEFA Fair Play Award for their exemplary behaviour at the UEFA Cup final in Seville and their unwavering support of the team.

The winner of the FIFA Fair Play Award 2021 will be selected by a panel of experts representing both FIFA and external football stakeholders.