St Johnstone could have had a penalty in their Scottish Cup loss to Rangers last night. 

That's the view of ex-Gers and Saints defender Richard Foster.

However, while the pundit feels the claims were strong for Callum Davidson's side, it was actually James Brown who ultimately cost himself the spot kick award.

The wing-back burst down the right hand side as he was tracked into the box by Ryan Kent.

The defender cut across the Englishman, who then clipped the Saints player.

Brown opted to stay on his feet - and it's for that reason Foster reckons Alan Muir didn't give a penalty.

He told BBC Sportscene said: "There's definitely contact and I think if he goes down, the referee probably gives it or VAR gives it. There is contact.

"Kent tries to pull out of the tackle but it’s the fact Brown’s went across him, you can see there there's definitely contact and I think if he goes down he probably gets the penalty.

"Credit to him, the contact hasn’t made him go down and he didn’t feel the need to.

"But he might have cost his side a penalty there."

Rangers secured their passage into the fifth round with a 1-0 win at McDiarmid Park. Borna Barisic scored in the only goal just before the break.

Glasgow Times:

At The Herald and Times we know the importance of reaching you where it's convenient, which is why we've engaged top sportswriter James Morgan to bring you an irreverent daily update on what's happening in the world of sport. Be it football, golf, rugby, cricket or something more exotic, James will tread where the best stories take him. To get this bespoke piece sent directly to your email inbox for free every day at 5pm, simply take 5 seconds to type in your email here. It's that simple!