Former Premier League referee Dermot Gallagher has backed the decision to award Rangers a penalty against Hibs - but also the call their goal out.

The ex-whistler branded the decision to award a spot-kick "absolutely right" but admitted he missed the foul on John Souttar in the first instance.

Gallagher added that a yellow card for Nectar Triantis was also the right decision after the collision in the box at Ibrox.

On Sky Sports' Ref Watch, Gallagher explained: "When I saw this I thought really, really harsh but when I saw the replay when it goes to the VAR, absolutely right.

"And what I would also say - also a yellow card. Flailing arm, catches him in the face.

"Credit to VAR because when I saw it first of all I didn't think foul.

"When I see the replay, definitely a foul."

READ MORE: Ianis Hagi Rangers state of play as Galatasaray transfer shot down

James Tavernier's penalty was saved by David Marshall and Scott Wright's rebounded effort - which found the net - was ruled out for encroachment.

A VAR review resulted in the goal being chopped off due to Wright being inside the penalty area as the spot-kick was taken and then being actively involved in the rebound.

On the encroachment call that saw Wright's strike ruled out, Gallagher added: "If he had size six boots instead of a size eight he wouldn't have encroached.

"But he does just encroach and because it is him that scores - because it is all about impact and who impacts on the rebound - if you look it is actually Scott Wright that is in the box and he scores so disallowed.

"This is where there is zero tolerance isn't it? Once you have VAR there and you can see the line.

"Once his toe is over the line, that is it."